Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Eagle footprint for 12V DC jack required

Status
Not open for further replies.

pcsandhya82

Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am new to eagle and am trying out my first design. Can someone tell me where to find the footprint for the 12V DC jack which has aprox 7mm diameter?

Thanks and regards,
Sandhya.

I am not sure exactly what DC jack you mean, but there are some in the library con-jack.lbr and some in con-conrad.lbr

Keith.

Hi, I found DCJ0202. But I m not able to make out the meaning of the symbol. Could you please tell me what are terminals 1,2,and 3?

I believe pin 1 is the centre pin, pin 2 would normally go to your internal power source (battery) and pin 3 to the circuit. When you insert the plug the battery will be disconnected from the circuit and the circuit is powered by the external power source. If you don't need that feature simply ignore pin 2.

It would be best to check the connections of your connector with a multimeter as it may be different. I know some switch the centre pin.

Keith.

Hi,
I have done it and placed the jack in my design. Now, could you please check my design once? is there any potential flaws? I am attaching it here.

Attachments

• 7805_Brd.rar
    44.4 KB · Views: 134

It looks OK. Your tracks are rather thin for a power supply though.

Keith.

so, if I use 0.020" for all the tracks, will that be sufficient? and is there a way to change the track width? I went to change ->width -> .024". but that gives me lots of clearance errors in DRC. Can I auto route it with a selected trackwidth?