Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

digital filter using avr microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

zunaidur

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
i am a student and i am new in here.
I want to make a digital filter using microcontroller. i designed a fir filter using matlab. But it has several hundred coefficients which i don't think i can implement using my Atmega32. can anyone help me in this?

I'm not familiar with that particular processor, but here are a few general things to think about:

How fast do you need this filter to be? This microprocessor might not be the right device for your application because of either speed or memory constraints. I sense you've already decided that.

The 'brute force' implementation of your filter will require you to store N coefficients and N samples. Each sample output will require you to fetch N coefficients from memory and perform N multiply/accumulates. Is your processor up to the task?