Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Difference between Sample/Value Function in Cadence Spectre

Puppet123

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
340
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
18
Activity points
2,952
What is the difference between Difference between the Sample/Value Function in Cadence Spectre Calculator ?
 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
763
Reputation
1,526
Reaction score
716
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,448
:cool:
What is the difference between Difference between the Sample/Value Function in Cadence Spectre Calculator ?
Both sample() and value() are not functions of Cadence Spectre.

Cadence Spectre Calculator”, such Tool does not exist.

Use correct terminology.

If you mean Calculator in Cadence ViVA or Wavescan, it has no relation to Cadence Spectre.

https://designers-guide.org/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1588264661/4#4

sample() is different from value().

Both functions invoke an interpolation from PSF data.
value() calculate only one point.
sample() resamples data with fixed step regarding independent variable.

Launch Skill API Finder.
 
Last edited:

Puppet123

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
340
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
18
Activity points
2,952
OK.

For Calculator in Cadence ViVA or Wavescan when would a person use value() vs. sample() ?
 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
763
Reputation
1,526
Reaction score
716
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,448
For Calculator in Cadence ViVA or Wavescan when would a person use value() vs. sample() ?
Both.
It depends on purpose.
Launch Cadence Skill API Finder and surely see and understand.

However both are not required at all, since your concerns are dft().
dft() uses sampling based on interpolation.

Surely learn and understand very basic things.
This is very true for all your posts.
 
Last edited:

Puppet123

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
340
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
18
Activity points
2,952
Actually my concern is not just the dft function.

I understand that sample and value use interpolation.

But can you give an example of where they should be used ?

Please answer the question I ask, you have not provided an answer. Surely, as is true in all your posts, you dont answer the question being asked.

Please provide an example for each - thank you.
 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
763
Reputation
1,526
Reaction score
716
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,448
Last edited:

Puppet123

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
340
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
18
Activity points
2,952
you have made 1424 posts on designers guide site but i can only see the last 100 of them, i also cannot search them.

so if its not too much trouble, can you repost some examples again here.

thanks.
 

pancho_hideboo

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 21, 2006
Messages
2,856
Helped
763
Reputation
1,526
Reaction score
716
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Real Homeless
Activity points
17,448
https://designers-guide.org/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1260978648

https://designers-guide.org/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1214321363/1#1

Please answer the question I ask,
you have not provided an anewer.
Surely, as is true in all your posts, you dont answer the question being asked.
I always provide enough answers.
Simply you can not understand very basic things at all.
That’s all.

All your posts are too trivial or too easy.
So no one answers even in https://designers-guide.org/forum/

Surely learn very basic things before posts
 

Puppet123

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 26, 2017
Messages
340
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
17
Trophy points
18
Activity points
2,952
These links are useless and have nothing to do with what I asked you about - value and sample functions in Cadence.

Your answer is not sufficient.

I can understand one thing - your answers are not useful, and your responses are not useful.

If my posts are so trivial and easy - why is it so difficult for you to answer.

I take valuable time to read the nonsense that you post here.

Surely learn how to deal with people and human beings before you post.
 

Dominik Przyborowski

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
819
Helped
361
Reputation
722
Reaction score
354
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Norway
Activity points
6,110
Dear Puppet123

Our dear friend Pancho sometimes makes impression to be harsh, but reading posts of some users, I can admire Pancho patience and will to responding.

Question about difference between two functions in the tool is a question like "I am too lazy to click help button and read basic information".
Cadence Virtuoso contains comprehensive and really user friendly documentation and help browser.
So, please don't behave like a rude kid. More humbleness, please.

Calm down and read this friendly 20 years old article. Article which I remember as a basic requirements to start using internet forum, irc channel and other places where people interacts.

Have a beautiful Sunday evening.
Dominik
 

vivekroy

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2019
Messages
245
Helped
100
Reputation
200
Reaction score
97
Trophy points
28
Location
N/A
Activity points
1,660
sample() is (typically) used to sample a waveform at a different rate. You can specify a starting point, an ending point, type of sampling (linear vs log) and the interval between samples.

value is used to get the value of a waveform at a single value or multiple periodic values and each axis can be interpolated in a different way for WREAL signals. It does not have the clipping function of the sample() function. Sample() would be a very handy way to downsample part of a signal, for example.
 

Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search


Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Sponsor

Design Fast


×
Top