Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Development board with ATmega16/8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Abhijith Yadav

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello people,
I am Abhijith from India, I am a complete novice in developing boards and stuff :-( . But, the group I am in has asked me to build a general purpose development board using ATmega16/8 that has options to include various shields as later extensions :cry: . The board should have an ATmega16/8 chip as the controller. I need the board to receive the data via USB from a computer and store it or process it in the ATmega16/8. It should have an option to switch between power from USB and a power supply. It should have an option to switch the board even with the above mentioned power options running. It should have a programming switch which will control the data flow and processes in the board. So please help me out as to where to start and what to do. i need to complete the task in 7 days. Even helpful material will do . I just need to know how to go about the work atleast in the next 2 days. Thank you!

Last edited:

Check the arduino boards, they do just what you need, of course you can buy them, but also you can build them from scratch.... (you don't need to program in the arduino ide, as all the bootloaders works with avrdude)

Also check the metaboard, a small USB development board with a atmega16 and the V-USB firmware for upload.

Can you help me out with info on how to make stuff by myself instead of buying the boards. thanks for the reply anyway!