Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Detecting faulty chips in a dell xps m1330 "won´t power up issue"

Status
Not open for further replies.

strengthever

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi everybody:

i am a newbie about electronics, but i need your help in how to detect or replace faluty connectors or chips in my dell XPS m1330 due to no power up issue.

can you share your expertise with a new one!

I´ve read about a R010 chip but how can i be certain about it if i don´t have any thermal vision gadget?

thanks in advance!!

---------- Post added at 22:47 ---------- Previous post was at 22:43 ----------

The direct answer to your question giving due regard to your knowledge level: get at least 4 years of electronics training at the educational institution of your choice, but by then the board will be obsolete. If the board and it's components have been damaged by liquid as it appears, it will almost certainly be uneconomical to repair. I wouldn't go further than testing the power supply at your skill level.

Make sure the processor is well attached to its heat sink, if not the chip overheats and shuts down almost instantly.
By taking some of the memory sticks out, one at a time, to see if there is a bad memory.
Try powering it up with a spare power supply if you got one, to see if it just can not handle the power surge.

THese are things to try if it starts to power up but shuts down withing 10 seconds or so.