Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Design of manual double stub tuner

Status
Not open for further replies.

ooiben

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,
I have been trying to look for materials on designing a simple manual double stub tuner (as shown in picture). Seems like there are not many materials available on this. Could anybody help advise? Thanks.

Regards,
Ben

[/img]

SOrry, I should have mentioned I am a hobbyist looking to build a low cost version of this. My interest is in the mechanical construction. Thanks

The basic mechanical design is simple, but you need at least a model to copy it.
Basically is a horizontally 50 ohms coaxial cavity transmission line (with air dielectric), having a cut slot along its length.
A shunt-connected vertical stub (which is shorted at one end) is moving alongside the initial horizontal transmission line, and also having adjustable length (using a micrometer in your picture for accurate reading).
You can use only one stub, but double-stub tuners can get a PI configuration providing wider range of impedance matching.

Brand new devices like this are very expensive (up to $4000) but second hand you can find for $100, plus shipping. I think is worth to buy instead making one.

Hi vfone,
Thanks for the reply. DO you know where i can buy a cheap one?