Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Dell M1330 Model: PP25L - motherboard schematic

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhernacki

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jun 11, 2009
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,338
dell pp25l motherboard

Hello I searching for Dell M1330 Model:pP25L schematic of motherboard because my mobo is dead and I want to repair it.

If someone know what are parameters of R010 please inform me because I want to buy it and change it.

Another thing what I searching for are fuses on this boards how can I search for it's on this mobo.
 

Dell Tech

Newbie level 2
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
2
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Atlanta, GA
Activity points
1,290
pp25l motherboard

I am looking for the same. Not sure where to begin. I have a M1330 as well with no power. I have some electronics experience so I am not afraid to work on the board. I just do not know where to begin.
 

Trion

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
23
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
14
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,448
pp25l

One issue in M1330 is the NVIDIA GPU overheats and stops giving display. This needs reflow or preferably rework by someone experienced in Large IC BGA rework.
 

abuholm

Newbie level 3
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
4
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
18
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Ghana West Africa
Activity points
1,310
Re: dell pp25l motherboard

jhernacki said:
Hello I searching for Dell M1330 Model:pP25L schematic of motherboard because my mobo is dead and I want to repair it.

If someone know what are parameters of R010 please inform me because I want to buy it and change it.

Another thing what I searching for are fuses on this boards how can I search for it's on this mobo.

Hi this is what i have and hope it helps..:D
 

gpsp900

Newbie level 1
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Location
uk
Activity points
1,283
excellent work, motherboard schematic
 
  • Like
Reactions: psychydyl

    psychydyl

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

chentaur

Newbie level 1
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
hungary
Activity points
1,284
Trion said:
One issue in M1330 is the NVIDIA GPU overheats and stops giving display. This needs reflow or preferably rework by someone experienced in Large IC BGA rework.

U're great bro!
I had a display problem XPS notebook, but after rehot the NVIDIA chip with flux it's working!

one more thx man!
 

malden1

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,286
Hi i Have a m1330 that will not power on, I am sure the problem is with the on board power supply or the chip that detects the wattage. When plugged in or battery, the laptop will not power. The power light on the AC adapter turns off when it is plugged in. If you could give me any insight what the problem is i would appreciate it.
 

trc117

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
3
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
FL
Activity points
1,296
It appears as though there are 2 types of motherboards that go in the M1330. I have 2 I'm trying to repair at the moment and the mosfets that are soldered on this board are not listed in the schematic. I believe the schematic provided is for one that I have that does not have the Nvidia 8400 GPU on it. Anyone know more about this schematic??
 

trc117

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
3
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
FL
Activity points
1,296
I looked through both of those schematics and they appear to be the same thing on both. I'm attaching 2 pictures. I've just realized that 1 processor is also different in the M1330.

Dell M1330 #1 - Intel t7300 2ghz with Nvidia GPU
This one powers up and immediately powers down.

Dell M1330 #2 - Intel T5250 1.5Ghz no nvidia GPU, turns power adapters off when they are plugged in.

 

gee-q

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jul 25, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,285
what was the item, and where did you get it, that was removed and replaced from the motherboard schematic diagram that has fixed the issue of no power and adapter lights shut off. I would like to know so i can also fix my xps 1330 with the same problem
 
  • Like
Reactions: KIMONITO and smigs

    smigs

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

    KIMONITO

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

trc117

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
3
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
FL
Activity points
1,296
gee-q said:
what was the item, and where did you get it, that was removed and replaced from the motherboard schematic diagram that has fixed the issue of no power and adapter lights shut off. I would like to know so i can also fix my xps 1330 with the same problem

I've still not narrowed down the component myself. Anyone else narrowed it down??
 
  • Like
Reactions: smigs

    smigs

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

cheeky2

Newbie level 2
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,289
I looked through both of those schematics and they appear to be the same thing on both. I'm attaching 2 pictures. I've just realized that 1 processor is also different in the M1330.

Dell M1330 #1 - Intel t7300 2ghz with Nvidia GPU
This one powers up and immediately powers down.

Dell M1330 #2 - Intel T5250 1.5Ghz no nvidia GPU, turns power adapters off when they are plugged in.



The M1330 has two chipsets one with the nvidia chipset and one with the intel chipset. The one with only 2 large square chips is the intel chipset.
I know this since i bought a dead M1330 with intel chipset and someone had made a bodge job of replacing the power socket! Resoldered inductor and cracked pcb and booted up :) However no charging of battery :( Finally managed to get battery charging once the manual was downloaded and the psid point was soldered using a link to the solder pad :) Now i have two good working M1330s both with the reliable intel chipset :)
I would like to thank the peolpe uploading the schematics as has resulted in a now fully functional laptop :)

Be lucky :)
 

ts565

Newbie level 1
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,286
Just had the same problem with my M1330 - short on motherboard causing the supply to turn off. After pulling it apart and checking with a lab supply and our thermal imaging camera from work I traced the problem to *****ed and shorted Ceramic cap C10. It's located near the connector for the battery charger board. Replaced it with another 10uF cap and it's all up and running again... :)
 

pgutierrez

Newbie level 1
Joined
Sep 27, 2010
Messages
1
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,285
Just had the same problem with my M1330 - short on motherboard causing the supply to turn off. After pulling it apart and checking with a lab supply and our thermal imaging camera from work I traced the problem to *****ed and shorted Ceramic cap C10. It's located near the connector for the battery charger board. Replaced it with another 10uF cap and it's all up and running again... :)

once again same symptoms.In my case c535 (one of the battery of capacitors for procesor supply) .Once is replaced with 10uf 25v cap,the laptop is perfect working.
I have read some others with cap c541 sortcircuited.It seems not to be always same cap.Good luck.
 
Last edited:

strengthever

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
6
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,340
I have an issue related to this topic, i got a Dell XPS M1330 which turns on and then powers off, battery is charged, power supply is good and besides i have tested with an universal power supply 19.5 v and the same problem, i´ve read that the power rail which is attached to the motherboard shorthcircuited or failed.
so i was reading about yur experiences and i want to repair it but i have no experience on circuits so can you please teach me how to detect the faulty chip or diode i have to change??

i dont have thermal vision so how can i detect the problem??

thanks in advance!! :-?

---------- Post added at 22:34 ---------- Previous post was at 22:31 ----------

i read about a r010 faulty chip but i´d like to know how to detect the problem, i will appreciate any help!!

thanks!!

---------- Post added at 22:38 ---------- Previous post was at 22:34 ----------

i guess i have the intel chipset!, i was thinking that i had an overheting issue about powering up my m1330 but now i understand that is more complicated than it appears!

---------- Post added at 22:44 ---------- Previous post was at 22:38 ----------

tese are my pics of my XPS 1330



Please send feedback

thx!!
 

DR3MA

Newbie level 2
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
2
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,287
Hello! I also have this problem, and I'm trying to pin point the faulty cap, any suggestions on how to do it?

Thanks a lot
 

strengthever

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
6
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,340
i don´t have any idea how DR3MA, but if you can see my second pic you can notice that probably a faulty R010 chip can be the starting problem about stopping the power rail from passing through voltage, that is why is looping!

Greetz!
 

    V

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

DR3MA

Newbie level 2
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
2
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,287
How you know the R010 is faulty?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top