Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] DC Power Jack Symbol... What? How?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zia.newversion

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Ok. I am not asking for a PCB footprint for a DC Power Jack since I have searched and seen a few members getting scolded over asking a stupid question which could easily be solved by searching. I already have a PCB footprint of a DC Power Jack. I am using EagleCAD and the schematic is confusing me, partly because I have never used a DC Power Jack before (Yeah, we have a power supply which has croc clips at the power terminals :p)

Anyway, the picture of the schematic is attached... Can anyone please explain how a DC power jack works? And where normal power supplies have two terminals, why does it have four? And how would I use this schematic? How can I find out which terminal is V+, which one is V- or GND... Please help. Thank you.

P.S. If anyone is wondering, the schematic AND the footprint came from Sparkfun Library for Eagle.

Attachments

• pjck.jpeg
    pjck.jpeg
    8.2 KB · Views: 409

That is a badly drawn symbol. This one is from the con-conrad.lbr:

From that is should be a bit clearer. When the power connector is inserted it breaks the + contact from the one with the arrow.

Actually the connector 73398? in the same library is a better example because they have labelled the pins 1,2,3 instead of making them invisible!

Keith.