Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Data transfer between GPRS modem and Remote server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suganiya

Newbie level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
gprs data transfer

hi,

i am new to GPRS communication, but i hav worked in appcation using GSM.
now i want develop application to transfer data between GPRS MODEM and a server kept in remote place. can anyone help me how to initialize the modem with GPRS mode for file transfer.
:cry: even i hope in my application i dont need internet pages to be accessed just want to send and get data from remote sever database.

thanks
Suganiya

gprs server

Here's the commands you need to send. In the example below '>>' indicates data you send to the module, while'<<' indicates data returned from the module. This example is for connecting through the AT&T/Cingular network. You'll need to get the APN, user name and password for the network you are using.

First you need to open a PDP context.
Code:
>> AT+CGATT=1	- Attach to GPRS Service
<< OK

>> AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular"	- Define PDP Context (cid, PDP type, APN)
<< OK

>> AT+CDNSCFG="208.67.222.222","208.67.220.220" - Configure Domain Name Server (primary DNS, secondary DNS)
<< OK

>> AT+CSTT="wap.cingular","wap@cingulargprs.com","cingular1" - Start Task & set APN, User ID, and password
<< OK

>> AT+CIICR     - Bring up wireless connection with GPRS - THIS MAY TAKE A WHILE
<< OK

>> AT+CIFSR		- Get Local IP address
<< 10.190.245.172	- returns IP address assigned to your module
<< OK

>> AT+CIPSTATUS		- Get Connection Status
<< OK