Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Current mode control in buck switch power,such as UC3842/3/4

Status
Not open for further replies.

huojinsi

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
uc3842 buck

Hi all:
I am studying how to operate regarding current mode control in buck switch power. I have some questions that cann't be understanded.

Question 1. From some papers, i know the inductor current is independent of duty cycle,so i cann't understand "how to vary about duty cycle? what is the result of duty cycle varying?"
Question 2. in current mode,i know the inductor average current is constant by slope compensation. But i cann't understand the inductor peak current is constant or not, what relation is the inductor peak current with duty cycle?

Pls help me explain.Thanks in advance!

buck current mode control

If you are operating in continuous current mode, then the duty-cycle only adjusts the output voltage. The peak current (and implicitly the average current) are adjusted depending on the output of the error amplifier. See pictures. In the first case, the error amplifier output is lower, so the transistor peak current is lower.
Note the duty-cycle is the same, as it should be. In reality, there will be a small variation, due to increased voltage drops across circuit elements.

The error amplifier output increases or decreases as a result of the output voltage variations, but since the EA has a large gain, the output voltage changes very little, although the error amplifier output has large variations. These variations actually control the inductor current, as we have seen.