Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CST simulation Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

chinwi85

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello forum,
I am new with antenna and CST, sorry if there are some stupid questions;
In fact, I have a mini-project about simulating a pyramidal horn antenna, I don't know what exactly do, and what parameters should I play with to enhance the horn's gain, A great thanks for anyone can help me :
First, I have some questions:
- I don't know how to choose he range of frequencies for a given frequency,?
- Is the length of a waveguide affects (if too short or to long compared with the length of the horn), and how to choose it?
- I don't know about ports and modes, what influence occur with increasing/decreasing mode/port?
- what is the difference between the resonance frequency and the cut-off frequency, the latter should be within the range frequency?
- what is the mesh do exactly, why should I increase it's lines?

Second, I found this example:
<<Given: Gain = 20dB, Frequency =10GHz, (for example here what should the range of frequency be ???). The value of a (width) and b (high) of the waveguide part of the horn antenna are 6cm and 3cm respectively.
Calculated data:
Resonance Frequency = 5.59 GHz; A(horn's width) = 13.85 cm, B(horn's high) = 10.11 cm, L(horn's length) = 11.43 cm