Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CST CPW Error "Some higher propagating mode..."

Status
Not open for further replies.

snkhan

Full Member level 6
Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
324
Helped
38
Reputation
74
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Gods place
Activity points
3,213
Hellow
Whenever i design CPW port in CST, it comes up in error message "Some higher order propagating modes at port 1 are not considered in time domain calculation. This probablay leads to inaccurate energy balance. Consider reduce the port size or upper frequency limit"

What does this error message and how to solve it. Does it has any effect on result

Thanks
 

Zak

Newbie level 4
Newbie level 4
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
6
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,333
Re: CST CPW Error "Some higher propagating mode...&quot

I have the same problem. Tried following the recommended port sizes from the 2006 Getting Started manual (pp 130 - 134), but still get the same error message most of the time.

Can anybody please help?
 

snkhan

Full Member level 6
Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
324
Helped
38
Reputation
74
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Gods place
Activity points
3,213
Re: CST CPW Error "Some higher propagating mode...&quot

I have tried to reduce the port size and/or upper frequency limit as suggested by CST but no use.
 

abdoeng

Advanced Member level 2
Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Feb 22, 2004
Messages
647
Helped
76
Reputation
152
Reaction score
63
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,810
no,try to enlarge ur port sides,i try it and no errors in the error message
 

maxwellian

Full Member level 2
Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
144
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,165
Re: CST CPW Error "Some higher propagating mode...&quot

If you are using PEC boundaries, the port mode solution probably found a waveguide mode that could possibly propagate (if excited by the problem).

You have to pay attention to your boundary conditions, and whether or not your CPW grounds are tied to the PEC wall grounds (if that is your boundary condition). You might want to try a multi-pin port, and connect all ground conductors to your "-1" pin to represent possible return current paths.

Hope that helps,

--Max
 

snkhan

Full Member level 6
Full Member level 6
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
324
Helped
38
Reputation
74
Reaction score
20
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Gods place
Activity points
3,213
Re: CST CPW Error "Some higher propagating mode...&quot

maxwellian said:
If you are using PEC boundaries, the port mode solution probably found a waveguide mode that could possibly propagate (if excited by the problem).

You have to pay attention to your boundary conditions, and whether or not your CPW grounds are tied to the PEC wall grounds (if that is your boundary condition). You might want to try a multi-pin port, and connect all ground conductors to your "-1" pin to represent possible return current paths.

Hope that helps,

--Max

I have alread apkkt multipin port and antanna is open AddSapce. But the same error
 

chaitu_b99

Junior Member level 3
Junior Member level 3
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
29
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,444
Hellow
Whenever i design CPW port in CST, it comes up in error message "Some higher order propagating modes at port 1 are not considered in time domain calculation. This probablay leads to inaccurate energy balance. Consider reduce the port size or upper frequency limit"

What does this error message and how to solve it. Does it has any effect on result

Thanks
Give the Z,X-axis values correctly,in the port dialouge window.And also giv the value of reference plane.The codition for the port values are given in the HELP,check it,and giv accordiinly.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top