Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

counters or interrupts for rotary encoder?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mamech

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello

I am new to the world of interfacing with rotary encoders with pic microcontroller. I searched and I read some codes, and I see that the efficient way is to use interrupts, but my question is, will I need to use interrupt on change on A / B pins ? or I will need to use counter/timer TMR0 & TMR1 for example?

most of the code that I have seen are using interrupts, will not be more efficient if i use counter to count pulses?

I had seen most of the people uses external interrupt to detect roraty encoder outputs.
But that method doesn't worked for me, and then i used timer interrupt and recorded the sequence of rotary encoder outputs and based on that i had done rest of the part.

The way I usually do it is to use one signal to the interrupt pin and the other to any port pin. Each interrupt means the encoder was rotated and by immediately looking at the polarity on the port pin you can see which direction. 'Polling' the encoder inputs without using interrupts presents the risk that one of the signal changes is missed. It depends on the latency of the polling and how fast the encoder pulses arrive. For a hand operated encoder you can probably use polling, if it is an encoder on say a motor shaft where the pulse rate can be very fast, I would only consider interrupts.

Note that some PICs have built-in quadrature detectors which are ideal for sensing rotary encoder signals.

Brian.