Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

conventional current or electron flow

Status
Not open for further replies.

faradayfan

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
conventional current

How should I look at circuits, as conventional current or electron flow current? Does everyone here analyze circuits based on conventional current flow? Forgive me I'm an electronics noob.

conventional current flow

One should always analyse circuits on the convectional current flow. This is because all the Laws (KVL, KCL and other higher laws BJT Models) are analysed ( And given appropriate signs) after considering that the current flows in the convectional direction.

However when you study particulat element in circuit ( say capacitor or a transistor, MOSFET, JFET) and when you need to know the electronic flow to understand some causes and conditions, you should consider the electronic flow.

**Electronic flow and convectional flow are always in opp. dir.

faradayfan

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
what is conventional current

Thanks. So would it be true to say ANY circuit behaves as if conventional current flow was exactly the same as electron current flow?

conventional current vs electron flow

We always consider conventional current's direction for analyzing various circuits. The direction of conventional current is opposite to the flow of electrons. But we have adopted the opposite direction as a convention and have been using for all the laws, thats precisely the reason why it is called the conventional current.