Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Controlling the stepper motor from a floppy drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrData

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, i'm new to electronics and i was following a project i saw on youtube where you could control via parallel port with pins 12,18 and 20 the motor of the drive.
I replicated the solution but there is some problem i can't figure out.
When i connect pin 12 to my drive the led will light but blinks instead of a solid green, the other issue is when i'm probing the pin 20 for step the motor this actually works but in a jerky form, it moves in both directions and never go past a couple millimeters for the start. If i manually push the motor forward, and then probe pin 20 i have a backwards steady motion until it reaches the track zero. And restarts the jerky movement again.
From what i've read some drives control the head of the drive to be at zero when they are connected. I think this is whats happening but i have no clue on how to fix it. I tried with 3 different drives and the result is identical, so its not a malfunction. I also have one 2.88mb drive and that one works as intended, the visual difference to me is that on the drive interface the 2.88 drive has all 34 pins and the other 3 drives (1.44) they miss pin 3.
Can you help me out understand how to solve this issue?

Thanks in advanced

Please post a link to the youtube video you are referring to.
Are you also providing power to the drive through the normal power connector?

Brian.