Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Controlling potentiometer volume with push buttons?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dw2296

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi, I am working on a car project. Basically, I need to be able to control the volume of the radio (a knob/pentiometer system I think) with two push buttons: one for up, one for down. I am still relatively new to electronics and have no idea where to start, without causing the volume to be dependent upon both switch systems. They need to be independent, such that either one can be used to adjust the volume throughout the whole range. I'm not sure how to do this. How is this done on factory car sound systems equipped with things like steering wheel controls?

PS: the push button signals will be going through a microcontroller first to interpret the resistive mulitplexing, in case that opens up possibilities.

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!

knob/pentiometer

Can you state which of two types this is? Either (a) rotates endlessly, or (b) traditional type with stops at the max and minimum levels?

If it's the second type then you have a difficult job to make it cooperate with up/down buttons.

It's the endlessly rotating kind.

I haven't taken it apart yet, so I apologize if I've given any wrong info.

Hello!

One possible system would be to use an encoder. Not mechanical of course. Mechanical encoders
are very unreliable when they get old. For instance a magnetic encoder. From there, you can detect
the variation direction in order to set the level up or down. And you can do the same in parallel