Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Controller is Resetting

Status
Not open for further replies.

ragav777

Newbie level 5
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,322
Hi, I am controlling 6A coil contactor, using a 12V relay by the micro controller.

Circuit is working fine even there are noises, but when i connect the ground of CRO to the Circuit ground, when the contactor is energized, the controller resets.

Is there any solution for this..
 

andre_luis

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
9,308
Helped
1,166
Reputation
2,351
Reaction score
1,152
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Brazil
Activity points
54,234
ragav,

Inductive components ( mottors, Contactores, Solenoids, and even relays ) adds big induced spikes at board, mainly if is at protoboard.
Check tracks distances ( if at PCB ), or wires ( if at PROTO ).

Also is important take special aptention to uC power supply, if it is filtering noises properly.

+++
 

ragav777

Newbie level 5
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,322
Yes, tracks are ok. There is enough gap between tracks.

I added 0.1uF disc capacitors nearer to all Vdd pins of uC, Is there necessary to put some value of electrolytic capacitor nearer to the controller..

Thanks..
 

cameo_2007

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
751
Helped
70
Reputation
142
Reaction score
44
Trophy points
1,308
Location
12°58' N77°38'E
Activity points
5,035
6A is what? the coil current? and is the contactor coil DC or AC ?
And what is the load that you switch on with your contactor?

you need to put a surge protector or snubber circuitrys across the Contactor coil.
 

ragav777

Newbie level 5
Joined
Nov 24, 2010
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,322
6A is what? the coil current? and is the contactor coil DC or AC ?
And what is the load that you switch on with your contactor?

you need to put a surge protector or snubber circuitrys across the Contactor coil.

Yes, I have put Snubber across the coil. R = 100 Ohms and C = 47nF

Contactor is 3Phase and coil is 230VAC , and the motor starting current is 1450A, which is given through contactor..
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top