Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Configuration of internet connection under ubuntu9.10

Status
Not open for further replies.

wachhad

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear Sir, Hello (aslem alaikom)
I am just a beginner in ubuntu OS
I try to configure my internet connexion but can’t do it
I go to : System, Preferences, Network Connections
Then I chose DSL, Add,
And I Field my Username, Password , then I finish
Wired network connection ‘Auto etho’ active
But if I chose my DSL connection
Dialogue window opened ” Allow access”: I chose always Allow
But after that no internet connection
If I open internet explorer I have error message
Problem loading page , server not found
So please help me as soon as possible,
With my best wishes,
Thank you in advance.
Email: benlekhdimahmed@hotmail.fr

Re: Configuration of internet connexion under ubuntu9.10

"Auto eth0" means you are connecting to an ethernet network port. If you are using an external DSL modem this is correct but the modem needs to know your username and password, not Ubuntu.

If you are using an external modem, it logs in for you and you just use the LAN to connect to it. Check the instructions for your modem it should tell you how to do this, usually you use the web browser (which isn't Internet Explorer!) and enter the IP address of the modem, for example it might be 192.168.1.1 and it will show you the set-up page where you enter the login information. That IP address is different from one model to another so check the instructions for the correct numbers to use.