Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Complete micro controller newbie , how to get started with ARM

Status
Not open for further replies.

docesam2

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
i am a complete newbie to all microcontrollers. i have some idea about several x86 programming languages but nothing more.

i have been searching for an answer to my question for weeks now ,evaluating various answers i came across but virtually everything i came across so far assume some degree of familiarity of the basics of microcontrollers in general.

so, how can someone start ARM programming as a hobby from virtually ZERO level ? or ARM is not for me ?

To start from zero level, probably best to get a development board (e.g. something with AT91SAM7S should be fairly cheap - this is just an example). Or you could make your own test board. But please don't code in ARM assembly (or any other processor assembly) unless you really need to - C is just as fast, and there are free compilers! You could use GNU compilers, or IAR have freely downloadable compilers with a 4kB code size limit. If you use the device I mentioned, then you will need a JTAG device - SAM-ICE is about $100 maybe (guess).