Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Compensation issue in buck DC/DC design

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonywai

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi All
I am studying buck DC/DC now.
For voltage control pwm, some papers introduce the typeII and typeIII compensation. But when I study some datasheet like TI's TPS62300,TPS65023...
It looks there is no external compensation RC with voltage control mode.

Can anybody give me some idea on how to fulfill this compensation? Internal compensation RC will cost large area, and It also mention that feedforward compensation. Does it mean slope of pwm ramp changes with input voltage?

Thanks!

Tony

Re: DCDC design issue

If you didn't see the external RC then it should be internal. For DC-DC we need to have compensation to make output stable. About feedforward compensation, that is adding one zero and one pole by adding a feedforward cap from out put to FB.

BR,

The feedforward component you mentioned is used for Lead(PD) compensator, so as to improve your phase margin. Please read p.p. 348

9.5.1 Lead(PD) compensator

Fundamentals of Power Electronics by R. W. Erickson ...

You can get the book at:

**broken link removed**

DCDC design issue

thanks drming I have got the book!
thanks harrytrinh but I still want to know how to fulfill the internal compensation, BTW, in the datasheet i cannot find the Cff between FB and output.

Hi,

for voltage mode pwm control the compensation rc will always inside. because the cap is not big.

ths.

DCDC design issue

Dear all,

For current mode buck converter, how to design the error amplifier?