Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Coaxial Cable length for impedance match

Status
Not open for further replies.

abhishek_rathod50

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,346
I have a 70 Mhz VHF generator having maximum power rating of 1.5KW. The generator is connected to the matching box with a coaxial cable. The matching box is connected directly to the plasma chamber.

The question that I had was what should be the length of the cable from the generator to the matching box so that the line acts as a 50 ohm line. Sould it be λ/4 (quarter wavelength) , λ/2 (half) or λ.
 

VSMVDD

Banned
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
646
Helped
92
Reputation
184
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Location
scotland uk
Activity points
0
multiples of a quarterwave but not a full wave long

Added after 51 seconds:

multiples of a quarterwave but not a full wave long

so 1/4wave / velocity factor of the cable this is about 0.96 for 50ohm rg59u

cable quality is shit

i use 2X swr meter and a dummy load one at tx end other at dummy load
to trim for 1:1 both ends cut about 1/2 " off at a time
 

abhishek_rathod50

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,346
For 70MHz, RG393 (VF 0.694):

1/4 wavelength = 246/70 MHz = 3.514 feet long (electrical) x 0.694 VF = 2.43

1/4 wavelength is 2.43' or 29.26" so an odd
multiple is 3 x 29.26" or 87.8" length. Does this sound good?
 

VSWR

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
749
Helped
103
Reputation
206
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,425
You have to give more details:

- what is the output impedance of the generator? 50 ohm?

- what is the input impedance of the matching box? 50 ohm?
 

abhishek_rathod50

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 5, 2007
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,346
The output impedance of the generator is 50 ohm. Also I am using a 7/16 connector at the input of the matching box which is also a 50 ohm.
 

VSWR

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Messages
749
Helped
103
Reputation
206
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,425
In that case you can use any length of the coaxial cable between the generator and the matching box. But be careful with the loss. As an example it is about 0.5 dB/10 m length at 70 MHz for RG-213/U coaxial cable.
 

sergio mariotti

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 22, 2003
Messages
468
Helped
69
Reputation
138
Reaction score
25
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Italy
Activity points
5,996
in my opinion the answer of VSMVDD is not correct.
It's well known that a λ/2 or λ long coax line take no changes on the impedance, even regardeless its Zo.

As opposite, λ/4 acts the strongest Z transformation.

for N λ/2 (N=1,2,3..) Zin = Zload regardeless for Zo
for N λ/4 (N=1,3,5..) Zin = Zo²/Zload

Since the your power is very high, you should connect very well the brian before connect the cables :)
 

biff44

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
4,923
Helped
1,362
Reputation
2,720
Reaction score
1,041
Trophy points
1,393
Location
New England, USA
Activity points
37,014
Man, what are you guys talking about? VSWR has the answer. You can put any length of characteristic impedance 50 ohm cable between your 50 ohm output generator and the matching box (assuming the matching box is actually working!).
 

FANT

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 27, 2002
Messages
415
Helped
52
Reputation
104
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Italy
Activity points
3,653
If both impedences are 50 Ohm any lenght of cable is OK,you have to take care only about the maximum power permitted on the cable. ( I suggest RG214 ).
If the impedance is different any lambda/2 or multiples will transfer the impedance of the generator to the load, any impedance of the cable used.

Mandi
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top