Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

coax feeding for slot excited two layer dielectric hemispherical resonator antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

nexttym

Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi..
i need to simulate a two layer hem. dra,slot excited..and the slot itself is fed with coaxial cable..the slot is in ground plane..i am new to hfss..
donno which type of excitation i should give to the port..and i'm also confused about the thickness of ground plane and the thikness of slot..

---------- Post added at 14:34 ---------- Previous post was at 13:51 ----------

need to do the simulation with hfss

hi
DRA usually fabricated on microstrip so u can define the ground plane with no thickness
and for port you can use both of lump and wave port but if your antenna is UWB better u apply wave port
for more information u read the work of ahmed kishk in university of Mississippi at IEEE

thanks for the reply...but i have to simulate a wide band two layer hemispherical dra,excited with an annular ring and the ring is excited with a coaxial probe..
thickness of the slot is another issue..
wil always be thankful for the help

Attachments

• 1BASE.pdf
    296.9 KB · Views: 109

hi
i read the paper but the figures which show the antenna are not clearly and and it is ambiguous

@ferdows: yeah..exactly..its really ambiguous..had been tryin for two months..pls intimate if u get any clue..
thanks alot for the reply..:):)