Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CMOS level shifter for changing a square wave from 0-1.8v to 1.8-3.6v

Status
Not open for further replies.

gtmbht

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 3, 2006
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,320
Hello,

I would like to shift a square wave operating between 0-1.8v to one operating between 1.8-3.6V. I tried using a conventional level shifter (domino like circuit). Unofrtunately it only shifts the upper level and not the lower , i.e., the wave output is between 0-3.6V and not 1.8-3.6V (desired). Please help me with this issue

Thanks
Gautam
 

IanP

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
7,942
Helped
2,310
Reputation
4,622
Reaction score
531
Trophy points
1,393
Location
West Coast
Activity points
66,416
level shifter cmos

One option is to use summing opamp + (-X) inverter ..

Regards,
IanP
 
  • Like
Reactions: JanIan

    JanIan

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
638
Reputation
1,274
Reaction score
89
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,176
cmos level

If you don't mind a momentary startup glitch, you could use a DC blocking capacitor, and bias the right side to 2.4v with resistors.
 

Davood Amerion

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Mar 1, 2005
Messages
584
Helped
116
Reputation
232
Reaction score
24
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Persia
Activity points
6,345
cmos level shifter design

Hi,
Check following circuit, it is very simple, but may working.
You must change resistor value , respect to logic famili used.

:D
 

Dillon

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,402
cmos level shifting

Davood Amerion said:
Hi,
Check following circuit, it is very simple, but may working.
You must change resistor value , respect to logic famili used.

:D

It's a good method
 

sunil_ic

Newbie level 5
Joined
May 22, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,325
level shifter design

check attached circuit. instead of 2Vdd, apply 3.3V and, instead of Vdd apply 1.8V.
Rgd
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top