Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Choosing beginning MCU platform - Need Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctown30

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone, I am looking to design a motor controller and I am having a hard time choosing an MCU platform (PIC, ARM, AVR, etc). I have looked at using a dsPIC33E/F, an AVR UC3B, and several mcu's based on the Cortex M3/4, as well as a couple others. I am fairly new to the MCU world and am wondering which is the best platform to choose? I do not want this to be a PIC vs ARM vs AVR thread as there are many of those out there already. The main reason I ask is because I have a couple other projects I am considering that require audio, video, and possibly embedded OS's which I feal is more suited to the ARM architecture. So I guess my main question is how easy is it to switch from a PIC/AVR/etc to the ARM architecture, or would you advise to start with an ARM mcu for the motor controller and just get real good with one platform? Thanks for your advice!

better go for 8051 / avr. these are easy to learn

Re: beginners ask for help
Tutorial (15 Chapters)
**broken link removed**

Tutorial (4 Chapters)
**broken link removed**

Tutorial (7 Chapters)
**broken link removed**

Tutorial (4 Chapters)
**broken link removed**

What is a Microcontroller?
http://www.pictutorials.com/what_is_microcontroller.htm

8051 Tutorial
**broken link removed**

AVR Tutorial
http://www.avr-tutorials.com/

You can try with this small uC PIC12F675
**broken link removed**