Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Choosing a microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlebire

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello everyone,

I am looking for a microcontroller with specific needs, and I am pretty new to all of this (currently an intern in a small company still haven't finished my engineering school yet).

The microcontroller would be controlling 2 transistors (independantly) and storing regularily an analog reading. So i need a ADC and 2 other pins. These readings from the ADC must be stored and are likely to go on for a few weeks. I would like to be able to get this data (like dumping a buffer) to my computer to be able to analyse all of it. My application works at max 3.3V and the ADC precision would be of 0.01 V if possible).

Here is the tricky part: i need as many ADC as possible. I have described only one sample but my testbench will include about 100 of these samples.

I was recently introduced to the Teensy microcontrollers but obviously they are too expensive even though they would have worked perfectly. (20$ each, and I would need one for each 8 samples...)

Has anyone any idea of the microcontroller of my dreams? ;-)

Several questions:
1) Are you saying you need to sample 100 different inputs, or 100 samples of a single input; it's not clear from your post.
2) Precision and accuracy are not the same thing. What ACCURACY do you need? 8-bit? 24-bit?
3) Are you saying you need to store "a few weeks" worth of data? Unless you are sampling very slowly, you're going to need external memory.