Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cascaded Preamplifer Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

aguijon

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everybody,

First of all I am a newbie in RF design issues so please don't bite me for my possible stupid questions and comments :grin: Anyway, I am trying to design a low noise preamplifer for 5 GHz ISM band using Infineon LFP760 transistor. I have constructed the recommended circuit according to application note and then I modified it to satisfy the requeired S-Parameters, stabilty,noise figure etc. If I did not a cricitical mistake everything looks acceptable except for gain. Spec for gain is 30 dBm for design but according to simulation results I have around 27 dBm when I cascaded 2 stages. So my question is there any applicable strategy to increae the gain to 30 dBm without changing configuration or do I need to add a third stage? Another question in my mind arises here. How many stages can we cascade? What do I have to consider when adding extra stages or what might be the concers? By the way I am designing this amplifer in awr micr. off. and I can provide the project file in case any expert wants to browse through it.

Thanks in advance.

Hi everybody,