Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Capacitor help me please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

slurp

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,491
Hi,

in a circuit where i need a 0.1uFarad Capcitor, but I don't have it on hand.
can i replace the 0.1uFarad capacitor with a 0.47uFarad capcitor instead?

Q1) Does it affect the Circuitry???

I am using that 0.1uF in the PIC16F877a circuitry where these capcitors are fixed at the VSS and VDD.

Q2) WHAT ARE THEIR DIFFERENCES? (besides the obvious difference where they have different capacitive values)
for example would it be OK if i replave the 0.1uFarad with a 1.0uFarad???

Many thanks.

cheers,
slurp
 

sunil_n

Member level 1
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
36
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore/Coimbatore
Activity points
1,454
Capacitors connected between VDD and VSS are de-coupling capacitors.They are used to remove noise/ripples in the voltage supply. Different capacitor values filters out different frequency ripples. Higher capacitor values used to eliminate lower frequency noise/ripples and vice-versa.

Replacing 0.1uF with 0.47uF capacitor will not harm your circuit, though 0.1uF and 10uF capacitors are used between VDD and VSS in a standard application

You can replace 0.1uF with 0.47uF in your circuit
 
Last edited:

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,667
Helped
14,078
Reputation
28,413
Reaction score
12,742
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,933
can i replace the 0.1uFarad capacitor with a 0.47uFarad capcitor instead?
In case of power supply bypass caps, yes. Higher capacitance values may possibly show unwanted resonances, but the capacitor type and it's placement will be more important than the exact value.
 

kabiru

Banned
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Messages
503
Helped
160
Reputation
320
Reaction score
146
Trophy points
1,323
Location
Nigeria
Activity points
0
The capacitor value 0.1uf is use for filteration,if you realy want it then you can connect three of them is series that gives you 0.15uf .
 

hussain_kiet

Full Member level 5
Joined
Mar 15, 2007
Messages
262
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
28
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Karachi, Pakistan
Activity points
2,813
the 0.1 uf Capacitors are usually ceramic capacitor's and 0.47 uf are usually electrolytic...
replacing them will not harm your circuit but there is noise present in your circuit then your circuit may behave incorrect E.g unwanted resets or hanging etc....
 

alexan_e

Administrator
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
11,895
Helped
2,020
Reputation
4,156
Reaction score
2,031
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Greece
Activity points
64,377
The capacitor value 0.1uf is use for filteration,if you realy want it then you can connect three of them is series that gives you 0.15uf .
I don't think it would be a good idea, you want to place the cap as close as possible to the supply pins of the mcu with small length leads to have the best decoupling.
If you use three capacitors in series then you use longer leads and probably additional pcb pad length, this will make the decoupling worse than using he higher value cap directly.

Alex
 

Anantha Krishna

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Messages
41
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,642
Basically 0.1uF capacitor should of Ceramic type which is used as bypass capacitor. If the 0.47uF is also of ceramic type, it should not be of any problem.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top