Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can you send different parameters to serial port?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nex

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
71
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Tarnaveni, Romania
Activity points
576
parameters...

Hi,

Is it possible to send different parameters (like: kernel processor usage, free memory, file system parameters, etc...) to serial port ?

Cheers !
 

microchaos

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Lithuania
Activity points
223
Re: parameters...

Hello,

I can't understand what you want to do... Can you detail your problem?
 

nex

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
71
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Tarnaveni, Romania
Activity points
576
Re: parameters...

microchaos said:
Hello,

I can't understand what you want to do... Can you detail your problem?

I want to display those parameters to a lcd display, after the OS start :)
Hope this give you an ideea :)

Cheers !
 

microchaos

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Lithuania
Activity points
223
Re: parameters...

Ok, one more question. You don't know how to get these parameters from OS or you don't know how to send and display them?

My vision:
You wrote the program, which gets these parameters from system, put it in startup. When system starts, your program gets parameters and sends them via rs232 (lpt, usb etc) to a module which consists from microcontroller (PIC, MSP, etc) and LCD. You need a microcontroller to communicate with PC. So, controller gets the data from PC and displays them to LCD.

Sorry for my bad english :oops: but I hope, you understand ;)

Good luck!
 

nex

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
71
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Tarnaveni, Romania
Activity points
576
Re: parameters...

microchaos said:
Ok, one more question. You don't know how to get these parameters from OS or you don't know how to send and display them?
Good luck!

Hi microchaos,

Right, you understand perfect what I want to do :)
The problem is to get those parameters, not to display :)

Cheers !

PS No problem with the english :) English isn't my native language :)
 

microchaos

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Lithuania
Activity points
223
Re: parameters...

Hi Nex one more time,

Most of system parameters you can get from registry (in Win ;) ). For instance this procedure returns the frequency of CPU in MHz:

DWORD CPUFreqFromReg()
{
HKEY hKey;
DWORD dwBuff;
LONG lreg;
DWORD dwfreq;

lreg = RegOpenKeyEx(HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, "Hardware\\Description\\System\\CentralProcessor\\0", 0, KEY_READ, &hKey);

if(lreg == ERROR_SUCCESS)
{
dwBuff = sizeof(DWORD);
lreg = RegQueryValueEx(hKey, "~MHz", NULL, NULL, (LPBYTE)(&dwfreq), &dwBuff);
RegCloseKey (hKey);
};

if(lreg != ERROR_SUCCESS)
{
dwfreq = 0;
};

return dwfreq;
};

For the CPU ussage try this link:
hxxp://www.google.lt/search?q=cache:84B48FRl_ZcJ:codeproject.com/system/cpuusage.asp+%22get+cpu+usage%22+c%2B%2B&hl=lt&ie=UTF-8


You should refer to MSDN and Google too ;)

My best regards to Rumunia! ;)
 

microchaos

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Lithuania
Activity points
223
Re: parameters...

Hello,

If you can read russish, you can try this link: w*w.proglib.ru

Cheers!
 

microchaos

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
Messages
27
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Lithuania
Activity points
223
Re: parameters...

I just found this link:

h**p://w*w.proglib.ru/detail.asp?id=946

I think there will be a good starting point for you.
 

nex

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 24, 2004
Messages
71
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Tarnaveni, Romania
Activity points
576
Re: parameters...

microchaos said:
I just found this link:

h**p://w*w.proglib.ru/detail.asp?id=946

I think there will be a good starting point for you.

I can't download that file, thanks anyway :)
I'll try later :)

Cheers !
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top