Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Can we use timer 0 or timer 1 or 8051 microcontroller in some application ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nirjharini

Newbie level 5
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
9
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,340
Can we use timer 0 or timer 1 of 8051 microcontroller in some application,kindly specify the application.I want to use 8051 in embedded system where i want to reconfigure some portin of 8051 by adding or deleting some part.Is it possible to redesign timer/counter.can we use both timer0 and timer1 or any one of them or any timer with using specific modes .i am confused kindly reply me soon .....:cry:
 
Last edited:

Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
1,192
Helped
170
Reputation
340
Reaction score
161
Trophy points
1,343
Activity points
0
You can use both timers or any one timer. It can be used to cause interrupt at a specified duration of time.
 

sequel

Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
76
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Nigeria
Activity points
1,753
timer 0 can run independently of timer 1....so whatever application that you have in mind, and so long as you will not push the limits of the timer; then i think you have no problem....sequel
 

Tahmid

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 17, 2008
Messages
4,758
Helped
1,791
Reputation
3,574
Reaction score
1,650
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Silicon Valley, California, USA (from Dhaka, Bangl
Activity points
30,545
You can use either timer as they are independent of each other. You can use both timers together as well.

I want to use 8051 in embedded system where i want to reconfigure some portin of 8051 by adding or deleting some part.
This is unclear. Can you please clarify it?

Is it possible to redesign timer/counter
You can use the timers for any time keeping purpose. You can also use them to generate interrupts. However, remember that you can not modify the internal hardware of the timers. So, you have to overcome any limitation through software.

Can we use timer 0 or timer 1 of 8051 microcontroller in some application,kindly specify the application.
Any time keeping application.

eg. If you want to light a LED, keep it off for 10 seconds, then again turn it on, keep it off for 15 seconds and then turn it on. You can use the timers for keeping track of time.

Hope this helps.
Tahmid.
 

qureishi

Newbie level 4
Joined
Feb 20, 2013
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,310
can i use both timers simultaneously at different frequencies ???? if yes how ? suppose one frequency is 50 hz at timer 1 while timer 0 operates on a frequency of 50 khz. !!
 

sequel

Member level 4
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
76
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Nigeria
Activity points
1,753
its very simple if you dont mind i can upload an assembly code for you to go through....sequel
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top