Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CAN protocol arbitration

Status
Not open for further replies.

karthikkrv85

Full Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hai friends,

I am new to CAN protocol. As per my understanding, the bit-wise arbitration is happening in the identifier field to win the bus to a high priority message.

My doubt is, what will happen 2 or more transmitters tries to communicate/sends same ID in the identifier field. Whether the arbitration continues until the bus finds proper transmitter or all the transmission aborted to re-transmit

Thanks and regards,
karthikkr

you would design your high level protocol to avoid the situation, i.e. message IDs must be unique

Thanks for ur reply. Actually i thought there may be multiple transmitters, one or the other may send same message id. Of course there wont be such situations.

But just for curiosity, what will happen if 2 transmitters send the same message id?

if the messages were identical and the clocks accurate would probably work OK. If different messages I would expect a canbus error condition. Be diffficult to test, one would have to synchronise two canbus units to tranmit the same ID etc within a time quanta. Sort of situation where a system works Ok for years and one day crashes with an unrepeatable error comdition.

Thanks horace....

I have one more doubt too..

"All nodes in the network are able to decide by message filtering whether the data to be acted upon them or not" Does this mean one or more nodes can accept same message?