Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can I use different kinds of MOSFETs in one circuit (.18 CMOS process)?

Status
Not open for further replies.

berryfan

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,603
In .18 process,there are some kinds of mosfet,for example,mos in 3.3V ,mos in 1.8V,can I use them in one circuit.thanks!
 

ljy4468

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
232
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Korea
Activity points
3,023
.18 cmos question

Sure, you can use it in one circuit.
3.3V mos has thick oxide.
 

berryfan

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,603
.18 cmos question

thanks very much!
but can it affect the other mos 1.8V,because the process of them isn't same,so I'm afriad of the simulation result.
 

ljy4468

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
232
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Korea
Activity points
3,023
.18 cmos question

As long as I know, there's no effect if you obey design rules.
 

berryfan

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,603
.18 cmos question

thanks a lot ljy4468
 

obi1

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
43
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Romania
Activity points
1,590
.18 cmos question

Any PDK has at least 2 types of transistors: core and I/O , in this case 1.8 transistors are for core, and 3.3 for I/O ( transistors that are connected cu I/O pads ). Usually when you have to interconect thoes two, you use a level shifter.
 

berryfan

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,603
.18 cmos question

obi1,level shifter,you mean that 3.3V mos should use under 3.3V.so I must make the 1.8 up to 3.3 through a level shifter,then ,I can use 3.3V under 3.3V.
 

jecyhale

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 19, 2008
Messages
403
Helped
54
Reputation
108
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
China
Activity points
3,001
Re: .18 cmos question

berryfan said:
In .18 process,there are some kinds of mosfet,for example,mos in 3.3V ,mos in 1.8V,can I use them in one circuit.thanks!

Of course can.

3.3V and 1.8V means the power supply of the mosfet.
 

berryfan

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
51
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,603
.18 cmos question

but it have not any affect?I still doubt it.because the process of making it is different.

Added after 5 minutes:

by the way,how many the simulation parameters of regulator are there?thanks.I mean all parameter we should concern.
 

airboss

Member level 3
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
64
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,821
Re: .18 cmos question

just a quick glance of this thread.

i guess to convince yourself, you should run simulation and check if any of the devices are breakdown.
 

cougar168

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
113
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Silicon Valley => Shanghai
Activity points
1,740
Re: .18 cmos question

berryfan said:
but it have not any affect?I still doubt it.because the process of making it is different.

Added after 5 minutes:

by the way,how many the simulation parameters of regulator are there?thanks.I mean all parameter we should concern.

For LDO, there are quiet a few parameters need to be considered, such as load regulation......
 

Sadegh.j

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
754
Helped
48
Reputation
98
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,596
Re: .18 cmos question

I also think you can
 

shanjoyce2004

Newbie level 4
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
7
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,307
.18 cmos question

you can. the other concern is cost. more device means more cost.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top