Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can I use DC adaptor instead of AC adaptor for camera?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dantoc

Newbie level 4
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,339
I have adaptor camera that use a AC adaptor : 9V and 700mA
Can I use an other DC adaptor 9V and 1000mA
Pls help I'm just very begining
 

alvarorahul

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Apr 13, 2005
Messages
110
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,062
Very beginer

i think so

the current 1000mA is the rating i.e. max current that the adapter can handle
 

eng_Semi

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
325
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Egypt
Activity points
4,111
Re: Very beginer

If u care on ur camera, so don't try with it.

I think that u couldn't use it
 

echo47

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Messages
3,942
Helped
637
Reputation
1,272
Reaction score
88
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
33,183
Very beginer

alvarorahul, you may have overlooked that one is AC and the other is DC.

I wouldn't try it without first opening up the camera and studying its power input circuitry to see if would tolerate DC. That may be a difficult chore, so I would probably go buy the proper power unit.
 

scorpionss22

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
146
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,284
Very beginer

if u mean the two adapter is DC so there is noproblem
and if u mean that one is DC and the another is AC
so dont try that its better to contact the manfacture
and ask go to there website and ask them
 

MRFGUY

Full Member level 1
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Messages
98
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,053
Re: Very beginer

Dantoc said:
I have adaptor camera that use a AC adaptor : 9V and 700mA
Can I use an other DC adaptor 9V and 1000mA
Pls help I'm just very begining

I think camera adaptor should be DC adaptor. If so, the second adaptor max current is higher than your one, you can use 9V1000mA for 9v700mA.

If camera adaptor is AC adaptor you can't try.
 

Dantoc

Newbie level 4
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,339
Re: Very beginer

@ MRFGUY It's exactly is AC adaptor ( I checked in manifacture web site) Before I used a DC9V 800mA and It's working. ( may be have retifier inside ).So I can use DC 9V 1000 mA for this , right?
 

awan

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 11, 2004
Messages
106
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
Los Angeles
Activity points
815
Re: Very beginer

USE A SMALL DEVICE IN PARALLEL WITH THE CAMERA BUT MAKE SURE IT DOESNOT CAUSE LARGE CURRENT DROP
 

power-twq

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
373
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,554
Re: Very beginer

no any problem, the latter will be better than the form one.

best regards



Dantoc said:
I have adaptor camera that use a AC adaptor : 9V and 700mA
Can I use an other DC adaptor 9V and 1000mA
Pls help I'm just very begining
 

banh

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Dec 16, 2004
Messages
458
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,939
Re: Very beginer

Dantoc said:
I have adaptor camera that use a AC adaptor : 9V and 700mA
Can I use an other DC adaptor 9V and 1000mA
Pls help I'm just very begining



sure can. the rating 1000ma means the adaptor can withstand load upto 1000ma.
 

Kral

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
1,326
Helped
280
Reputation
558
Reaction score
85
Trophy points
1,328
Location
USA
Activity points
13,418
Re: Very beginer

"Wall warts" fall into 2 categories; AC and DC. The AC types are simply transformers. The device under power provides its own rectifier, and possibly a filter. The DC types can have either - or + polarity. They have built-in Rectifiers, and sometimes have built in filters.
The following situations are based on the assumption that the new wall wart has the same voltage rating as the original.
.
Situation 1: The camera is designed for use with an AC wall wart:
. If the new (DC) wall wart has the wrong polarity, it won't work, but won't harm the camera
.
. If the new (DC) wall wart has the correct polarity it will work if its current rating is equal to or greater than the original wall wart.
.
Situation 2: The device is designed for use with a DC wall wart:
.
. If the new wall wart has the wrong polarity, you will fry your camera.
.
. If the new wall wart has the correct polarity and its current rating is equal to or greater than the original wall wart, then it will work.
.
. If the original wall wart is a DC type, and has a filter, as well as a rectifier, the new wall wart may produce eratic results, if it has no filter or its filtering is not as good as the original, you may get erratic results from the camera, but no damage will be done.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top