Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Can anyone checking my work about BCD/Verilog

Status
Not open for further replies.

_Stavros_

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I'm a verilog beginner, I'm try to write a 24(29)-bit hexadecimal BCD counter. Can anyone explain how to implement it ?
Thanks !
Her is my code, but I'm need to check.
Who can help me ?

``
Снимок экрана от 2020-08-22 16-14-08.png

Code:
Code:
module binary_to_BCD(output [31:0] bcd,
        input [23:0]bin,
        input clk);
reg [31:0] bcd;
reg [4:0] i;
always@(posedge clk or bin)
begin
    bcd=0;
    for(i =0; i<24; i = i + 1)
    begin
        bcd = {bcd [30:0],bin[23-i]};
        if(i<23 && bcd[3:0] > 4)
            bcd[3:0] = bcd[3:0] + 3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[7:4] > 4)
            bcd[7:4] = bcd[7:4] + 3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[11:8] > 4)
            bcd[11:8] = bcd[11:8]+3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[15:12] > 4)
            bcd[15:12] = bcd[15:12] + 3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[19:16] > 4)
            bcd[19:16] = bcd[19:16] + 3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[23:20] > 4)
            bcd[23:20] = bcd[23:20] + 3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[27:24] > 4)
            bcd[27:24] = bcd[27:24] + 3;
        if(i<23 && bcd[31:28] > 4)
            bcd[31:28] = bcd[31:28] + 3;
    end
end
endmodule

Last edited by a moderator:

how did you test it?
what did you get when you tested it?

for this use-case, "double-dabble" is a better choice. but for a counting case you can optimize further. the trick there is to maintain the count in bcd on each cycle. the bcd to bcd+1 conversion is not as optimized as binary to binary+1, but the binary to bcd conversion scales worse.