Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

calculating doppler speed using ultrasonic sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Engr_student

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi i am an Engineering student and i am making a radar to detect the moving objects using arduino and ultrasonic sensor sr 04.
The problem i am facing is i want to calculate the speed and the Doppler frequency of the object.but i don't know how to interpret the Doppler frequency at the receiver side of the sensor in my code and how to use this frequency in writing a code, so that i could find the object velocity...

What measurement calculation are you using?

Seems to me there are two ways to do this:
(a) Measure distance based on click's round trip time, compare to previous click's distance data,
or
(b) broadcast a frequency at target, measure percent difference of return frequency.

I think method 'a' will be easier to calculate.

Consider the speed of sound for local pressure, and temperature and the difference frequency detected is either pos or neg with direction of object travel. delta f / f * V(air) / 2 in desired units of measure. The Doppler effect works from sender to target and then the echo works the same from target back to send, so the result has a /2 factor.

unless the speed is very high, you will not get a very big shift in Doppler frequency using only ultrasonics.

Even at 10 GHz carrier, you only get tens of kHz of Doppler shift from typical movements.