Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cadence & Sizing of Capacitor for Layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPotter999

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear Group,

I am completely new to Cadence and AMS for layout but have been given an assignment to design a Butterworth filter and had various questions regarding capacitors.

I am using the following tools:

Cadence 5.1.41
AMS C35B4C3

Due to caonstraints I am looking to implement capacitor values up to 10pF maximum and resistor values up to approx 350 KOhms.

I am attempting to use Cadence layout to compare area combinations of capacitors and resistors to get a feel for a good trade off. However, I dont know how to calculate the capacitor area because:

1. How do I find the relative constants such as mobility, Oxide capacitance etc for Austria Micro Systems 0.35um technology?

2. I have used virtueso schematic and see that values can be entered for the capacitor W and L, but is there a way to have the tool automatically provide sensible sizing?

3. Many people discuss unit area and 'Lambda' in terms of layout and say that if you layout in an S shape you need to consider 0.5*Lambda layout rules, is Lambda=0.35um for a 0.35um process, everyone talks about Lambda but no one explains what it is.

4. If I have to layout the capacitor using Layout XL, can Cadence verify what the capacitance of the design is?

Apologies if this is a repetitive questin on the forum or if these questions really are basic but I really have not found much help on the MOSIS website and would really appreciatte your input!

Kindest regards,

Ken Potter.