Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Cadence IC5141 installation error - on CentOS5

Status
Not open for further replies.

roli

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
Messages
246
Helped
9
Reputation
20
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
'SiliconWafer' Island
Activity points
1,824
centos ic5141

On CentOS5 (RHEL 5 equivalent), I get the following errors during installation of Cadence IC5141 (IC v5.141):


======================================


Are your selections correct? [y/n] y
Generating detailed installation data...

Determining available disk space
sort: open failed: +2: No such file or directory
Determining required disk space

Disk checks successful
The following media is required:

IC5141 lnx86 P/N 356-70352-0501 CDROM # 1
IC5141 lnx86 P/N 356-70352-0502 CDROM # 2
IC5141 lnx86 P/N 356-70352-0503 CDROM # 3

Press [Return] to proceed, q to quit :

Checking for IC5141 lnx86 P/N 356-70352-0501 CDROM # 1 .........
Extracting control programs .........

Updating package installation information.....
..............................................
Checking data files...

Executing control programs (pre-load) ...
sort: open failed: +3: No such file or directory
expr: syntax error

SL-8: No information available on :.
Call the Cadence Customer Response Center (CRC) at 1-800-Cadenc2
(1-800-223-3622) to get the right /usr/export/applic/cadence/IC5141/install/tmp/mediaMap.lnx86 file.


======================================


Scoured the Forum for similar problem reports. There were a couple of similar reports here in EDABoard, but none of the hints really helped.

Tried to install "ncompress" RPM - but that didn't help ...
Anybody encountered this ?

TIA
 

hock

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
525
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
3,567
cadence ic5141 centos

give me a days time.
i have succedded in installing IC5141 on RHEL 5.1 and scientific linux 5.1 from the original installation media. no tar ball makeing and no modification of install script.
i have solved ur error message.

hock
 

roli

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
Messages
246
Helped
9
Reputation
20
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
'SiliconWafer' Island
Activity points
1,824
centos5 cadence

hock said:
give me a days time.
i have succedded in installing IC5141 on RHEL 5.1 and scientific linux 5.1 from the original installation media. no tar ball makeing and no modification of install script.
i have solved ur error message.

hock
Thanks much !
Eagerly awaiting your advise ... :) ...
 

tlihu

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 2, 2002
Messages
336
Helped
18
Reputation
40
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,258
ic5141 centos

1. Verify if gzip, bzip2, zip, unzip rpms are installed.
2. Make symlins to gzip as compress and gunzip as uncompress in a dir which is included in PATH.
3. Try to figure out what file/directory is missing. Most of uncompressors can be simlinked to gzip/gunzip.
 

roli

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
Messages
246
Helped
9
Reputation
20
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
'SiliconWafer' Island
Activity points
1,824
cadence centos 5

As I mentioned I've added the 'ncompress' RPM - but that didn't help.

Do you suggest to delete original 'ncompress' installation, and simlink compress/uncompress to gzip/gunzip ?

How crucial is bzip2 ?

BTW - my shell is 'tcsh' (not the default 'bash') - Can that be the cause ?
 

meitolake

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
154
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,894
ic5141 installation

Add following to your .tcshrc:
setenv _POSIX2_VERSION 199209
 
  • Like
Reactions: jlgr

    jlgr

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

roli

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
Messages
246
Helped
9
Reputation
20
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
'SiliconWafer' Island
Activity points
1,824

afp2008

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
16
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,385
ic5141 on centos 5

Hello guys....i had the same problem with IC5141 on Centos 5.

I didn't find where the .tcshrc file is located..... can anybody help me? thanks....
 

meitolake

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
154
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,894
cadence ic5141 on centos

Your home.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jlgr

    jlgr

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

afp2008

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
16
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,385
install cadence ic centos 5 sort

OK...Thanks a lot...but i can't run IC5141 on Ubuntu 7.10.....I'll try an older linux vesion, like fedora 4.....
 

nexusspy

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 11, 2006
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
cadence syntax error

Hello !
Did yu succeeded to install ic5141 in centos 5 ??? How ? That option does not work !!!
 

loverrf

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
73
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
514
cadence ic5141 installation procedure edaboard

Hello.

I have some problem during installation of the ic5141 on CENOTS 5.2

Although upper error is occurred , IC5141 is well installed by your help.
but, I have another problem.
when I execute icfb& , following error is occured
"/tools2/cadence/cds5/tools/dfII/bin/icfb.exe: relocation error: /tools2/cadence/cds5/tools/dfII/bin/icfb.exe: symbol errno, version GLIBC_2.0 not defined in file libc.so.6 with link time reference "

all the environment variables are set in the .cshrc file.

Do you know how to solve this problem ?

Thanks in advanced.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top