Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cadence - analogLib - switch component, how does it works

Status
Not open for further replies.

drabos

Full Member level 6
Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
397
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,767
analoglib switch

Hi!

Sorry my stupid question, but now I have to use first time this switch component, I am not managing to use it. Could anybody explain me how does it works?

Thanks,
 

Vabzter

Member level 1
Member level 1
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
33
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,492
cadence switch

Hi,
Are you asking about the ideal switch(SPST) in analog lib? In this switch 0=off and 1 = on. The only thing to look is if you want to turn the switch on all the CDF parameters must be 1 and for off all must be 0...For SPDT the values 1,2 togges it between the 2 outputs..
I hope this helps..
BR
Vabzter
 

drabos

Full Member level 6
Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
397
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,767
cadence analoglib

I have to use this switch in pulse mode, so I have to use it with voltge pulses to turn on it.

Added after 5 hours 27 minutes:

It's the switch in the analogLib.
Parameters:
Open switch resistance
Close switch resistance
open voltage

Added after 34 seconds:

It's the switch in the analogLib.
Parameters:
Open switch resistance
Close switch resistance
open voltage
closed voltage
multiplier
estimated operation region
resistance
 

gingerjiang

Full Member level 3
Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
171
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,181
switch analoglib

drabos said:
I have to use this switch in pulse mode, so I have to use it with voltge pulses to turn on it.

Added after 5 hours 27 minutes:

It's the switch in the analogLib.
Parameters:
Open switch resistance
Close switch resistance
open voltage

Added after 34 seconds:

It's the switch in the analogLib.
Parameters:
Open switch resistance
Close switch resistance
open voltage
closed voltage
multiplier
estimated operation region
resistance

the switch's n+ and n- are connected into the switch location, and nc- is connected to gnd, nc+ is connected to the control clock

Open switch resistance is set switch on resistance
Close switch resistance is set switch close resistance
open voltage is set gnd+vth
closed voltage is set vdd-vth
(i assume the high potential is vdd and the low potential gnd in the pulse)
the vth may be (vdd-gnd)/10

good luck
 

drabos

Full Member level 6
Full Member level 6
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
397
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,767
cadence analoglib switch

Anyway, I've just wondering about where is some info about the analogLib components, I can't find anything in the online help, may be I am duffer.
I think it will be useful, many times.
 

gingerjiang

Full Member level 3
Full Member level 3
Joined
Mar 1, 2006
Messages
171
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,181
cadence switch release

this link is agilent technologies analoglib components, but i don't find the switch
h**p://eesof.tm.agilent.com/docs/rfdedoc2005A/rfdeanloglib/index.html
 

viperpaki007

Full Member level 5
Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
270
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Finland
Activity points
3,395
Re: Cadence - analogLib - switch component, how does it work

I am also having the same problem...i want to use a ideal switch from cadence analoglib with a pulse source controlling it...I am not able to see any options for control in 'sp1tswitch' part. What other type of switch i should use...

also i am not able to find any description of analoglib components...can any body describe themm...above link is not working
 

tandy

Newbie level 6
Newbie level 6
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
11
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Macao. SAR, china
Activity points
1,336
Re: Cadence - analogLib - switch component, how does it work

I am also having the same problem...i want to use a ideal switch from cadence analoglib with a pulse source controlling it...I am not able to see any options for control in 'sp1tswitch' part. What other type of switch i should use...

also i am not able to find any description of analoglib components...can any body describe themm...above link is not working

what do you mean " the control in 'sp1tswitch' part ". if you want to know more setting about the ideal switch in analogLib. you can refer to the discussion:
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/42473/

Regards
 

darshana kuche

Newbie level 5
Newbie level 5
Joined
Sep 19, 2012
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,311
Re: cadence switch

Hi,
Are you asking about the ideal switch(SPST) in analog lib? In this switch 0=off and 1 = on. The only thing to look is if you want to turn the switch on all the CDF parameters must be 1 and for off all must be 0...For SPDT the values 1,2 togges it between the 2 outputs..
I hope this helps..
BR
Vabzter

Hi vabzter

Can you please explain how can we toggle the values 1,2 between the two outputs?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top