Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Cable testing

jimmykk

Full Member level 2
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
128
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,292
Hi I have a cable consisting of coax wires. On one end of this cable:The outer conductor of these wires are connected to common ground while inner conductors are soldered on SMD pads for signal flow. This end is unfortunately not accessible as it is enclosed in a housing. Similarly, The other end of cable is connected to a connector to their respective pins. This end can be measured.
so my question is there any test I can run to check if there is continuous connection of the cable. That is Wires are soldered on SMD pads and on the other end, they are connected to the pins.
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
19,945
Helped
4,370
Reputation
8,749
Reaction score
4,352
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
132,021
Hi,

I guess the SMD pad is not the end. Are there any traces and/or parts connected?

Klaus
 

jimmykk

Full Member level 2
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
128
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,292
Unfortunately, nothing is available as measurement point on the SMD pads end. This end is completely sealed. I was thinking of more like a capacitiance measurement between ground(outer conductor) and signal(inner conductor).
 

stenzer

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
516
Helped
96
Reputation
192
Reaction score
112
Trophy points
1,323
Activity points
5,665
Hi,

A sensor element is connected and we can’t run that yet.

as you are using a coaxial cable, it sounds to me your sensor is providing an analog output. So, if you power up your device I assume you should be able to measure a plausible value (voltage).

Why aren't you able to operate the sensor at the "moment"? Or do you mean it does not work as intended?

BR
 

jimmykk

Full Member level 2
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
128
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
16
Activity points
1,292
Thing is we do not have any equipment to test it other than multimeter/LCR Meter.
The only thing that is accessible to us is the cable end with loose wires/connector.
 

dick_freebird

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
7,350
Helped
2,137
Reputation
4,279
Reaction score
2,001
Trophy points
1,393
Location
USA
Activity points
58,893
Time domain reflectometry. Pop a single pulse down the line
and look for the reflection on an oscilloscope. Characteristic
length, or something else, going by time of flight? If you are
good you can "see" connectors and other minor discontinuities
in the waveform (though it helps to know what and where
you're looking for).
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
19,945
Helped
4,370
Reputation
8,749
Reaction score
4,352
Trophy points
1,393
Activity points
132,021
Time domain reflectometry
Hi,

I agree this could be possible..
But without any information about the sensor .....we can't be sure whether the pulse hurts/kills the sensor.
It's like drinking from a bottlle with unkonwn content. It may be water, wine, poison, chemicals, hot, medicine, fuel...

* I can't give a recommendation to test the cable when an unknown sensor with unkonown behaviour is connected to the cable.
* Either disconnect the sensor and test the cable alone..
* Or get information about the sensor

Klaus
 

LaTeX Commands Quick-Menu:

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top