Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Bus for connecting ARM + DSP

Status
Not open for further replies.

DarwinAlonzo

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 12, 2005
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,324
I am thinking that for some specified application which ARM-base processor and DSP works together.

What's the type of bus between two processors, which could enhance the total computation power?

Are they 'memory shared' (it seems too complicated for s/w design) / SPI/ GPIO (speed too low)?


:idea: I know TI, philips, atmel....they have DSP/Codec + ARM inside single chip. But any sugguestion for discrete them.
 

bobcat1

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
1,288
Helped
99
Reputation
198
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
8,547
Hi

You can use the philips LPC22xx ARM with external bus to connect the dsp as an external memory device




All the best

Bobi
 

Hero

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
145
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,608
Hi,

Maybe you don't need additional DSP with ARM core. New ARM cores have support for DSP operations. So choose some ARM9 or higher architecture.
 

lzh08

Member level 2
Joined
May 28, 2004
Messages
45
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
565
yes,arm9 include dsp core,you could select one
 

john2020

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 13, 2005
Messages
292
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
4,911
hi all

can anyone suggest me as to how to implement Voice Over IP or MP3 codec for ARM7.what all specific areas i need to know to accomplish this task?can anyone send me some mirror links ,where i could get source code?pls help me.

regards
john
 

alzomor

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
678
Helped
39
Reputation
78
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Cairo
Activity points
6,417
Hi

I think the newst release of AMBA Bus has a fast AHB link to IO's which could be used to connect to DSP

Salam
Hossam Alzomor
 

wjj1213

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jan 30, 2006
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,302
I think the DSP from analog device ,like BF533
 

deweiwang

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,288
Hi
I think you can use the Ti's newst chips which intergated DSP+ARM.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top