Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building a regulator/Rectifier for a motorcycle

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monkleys

Newbie level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I hope this is in the right forum. This looks about right.

Okay so I've bought an old motorcyle that I've started to build up from scratch, and finally, I've made it to the eletronics.
I've posted on a few other forums looking for some help with this project as I have little experience with eletronics, I can pretty much solder things together.

I'll provide a diagram and anything else that might be necessary. As well as everything I've learned so far.

I'm going to start off with the wiring diagram for my motorcycle, it's a yamaha xt350.

WiringDiagramXT3501996-2000_zps607b2986.jpg

Okay, and here is some background to my problem.

So recently I bought an XT350 which pretty much starts and runs perfectly. With only one small major problem, its eletrical system, surprise!

Okay so, the headlights never worked, that's problem one. Problem two, the battery never charged. Oh, it didn't come with a battery.

Naturally, I bought a battery, plugged it in, with a bit of wiring, fixing the connectors, getting some rust off the switches(she was neglected for a good year). I managed to get the turn signals, odometer lights, tail light and horn to run off the battery, as it was wired originally. Though, the battery never got recharged from the magneto, I jumped past the rectifier/regualtor because the headlight wasn't working either.