Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Bipolar Stepper Motor driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

SR19

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
160
Hi all,
I have attached the unipolar stepper Motor datasheet (which im using as bipolar) & Driver schematic .Step input is applied by using function generator.I need to drive this motor @ 1000 PPS for 300 RPM...but motor is running smoothly between 400 - 500Hz step input ..after this range motor starts vibrate..how can i make this motor will run smoothly @1000pps..

Thanks in advance
 

Attachments


barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
4,935
Helped
1,082
Reputation
2,174
Reaction score
1,071
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
26,990
Your driver and/or motor may not be capable of running at 1000PPS. You need to look at the specs. What is your load?
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,471
Helped
4,119
Reputation
8,238
Reaction score
4,054
Trophy points
113
Activity points
121,549
Hi,

often this is a mass - spring problem of the motor itself.

Google for "stepper damping"

Klaus
 

SR19

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 17, 2013
Messages
26
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1
Activity points
160
Your driver and/or motor may not be capable of running at 1000PPS. You need to look at the specs. What is your load?
Actual load is 3A.For testing purpose im using this motor without load
 

amayilsamy

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Messages
422
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Chennai,India
Activity points
3,368
In your schematic Pin No. 21 Voltage reference pin(Refer in Datasheet A4989 Page No. 12).

We can control the motor torque through this pin. You adjust the reference voltage require torque.
 

barry

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Mar 31, 2005
Messages
4,935
Helped
1,082
Reputation
2,174
Reaction score
1,071
Trophy points
1,393
Location
California, USA
Activity points
26,990
Load is 3A? I'm talking about mechanical load. And,as pointed out, this could be a resonance problem. Is your motor specified to run at 1000PPS?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top