Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Best way to go from VHDL to "System Verilog"/&quot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lord Banshee

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Just wondering if anyone has tips from going to VHDL to System Verilog/Verilog ?

I have very little experience with verilog but have taken 3 classes in college which required VHDL, taking my fourth next semester. My am accepting a job with intel in May and they suggested me to learn verilog if i have time before i start, so here i am asking :).

Thanks

Re: Best way to go from VHDL to "System Verilog"/&

You already know VHDL so it'll be so simple to start in Verilog, since it's much easier than VHDL. Verilog is similar to C, so if you have a background on C then life would be rose :D. Some of the "features" of VHDL are dropped out in Verilog, and that's what makes Verilog much simpler! There are tons of books here in the forum that you can start with, just taking a quick idea about Verilog before the SystemVerilog switch. When going for SystemVerilog, you'll need some of the VHDL again. SystemVerilog is considered a superset of Verilog, and it includes some of the VHDL features that aren't already available in Verilog!

Here's a very interesting paper about SystemVerilog, and how it's the merging between Verilog and VHDL.

http://www.sunburst-design.com/papers/CummingsSNUG2003Boston_SystemVerilog_VHDL.pdf

Best Of Luck :D

Re: Best way to go from VHDL to "System Verilog"/&

for verilog...there's the book of palnitkar...Verilog HDL
the one of morris mano...digital design