Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Best FPGA for high speed ADC read/transfer

Status
Not open for further replies.

oliglaser

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am designing a reasonably priced, medium speed (up to 300Msps hopefully) USB scope.
I have plenty of experience with MCUs, firmware, PC software etc etc, but have only just got into FPGAs - I have just etched my own basic test board with an Actel ProASIC3 device which is working fine, just to have a mess about and get up to speed with stuff.
The next step is designing a high speed multilayer board to read the ADC and implement the triggering an so on. I am looking for the best device (preferably Actel as I have the Flash Pro4 programmer now but any device considered - I know there are other faster chips out there)
Ideally the chip would have on board flash configuration (one reason I chose the ProASIC3) and have enough on board RAM to store around a million 8-bit samples so I don't have to worry about external RAM addressing and the high speed transfer.
Obviously it's likely I will have to compromise somewhere here so am willing to do so and consider any advice or suggestions people may have, especially as I want to keep the final sale price low.
Any help would be much appreciated, thank you.

On a side note - I would like to grab a USB JTAG programmer that does most of the main FPGA vendors (Xilinx, Altera) and is compatible with the IDEs and well documented - any advice here would be good too.