Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

bessel OTA-C filter: help required

Status
Not open for further replies.

EmbdASIC

Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I need some help in designing a bessel OTA-C 2nd order low pass filter. I have designed my OTA, and now need some guidance to start designing my OTA-C filter.

Previously I have some matlab experience in designing digital filters only ! from where should i start?

first u have to choose your transfer function. Then u have to realize it with transconductor and capacitance. There are several architecture to achieve this goal. Look at Delayannis book. I post u a link where you can find it.

http://ifile.it/higq6to

The book gives several ideas to implement OTA-C biquad filters. I think it should help.

EmbdASIC

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
EmbdASIC said:
I need some help in designing a bessel OTA-C 2nd order low pass filter. I have designed my OTA, and now need some guidance to start designing my OTA-C filter.

My recommendation is as follows:
* OTA1: non-inverting integrator (input at pos. port) with C1 as load.
* OTA2: low pass 1st order (100% neg. feedback) and C2 as load; pos. input connected to output of OTA1.
* Overall feedback: Connection between OTA2 output and pos. input of OTA1.

This gives a good working lowpass of 2nd order with two grounded capacitors.

* Design formulas: pole freqiency wp=1/sqrt(T1T2); pole Q Qp=Sqrt(T2/T1)
with T1=C1/gm1 and T2=C2/gm2.
(values for wp and Qp derived from design tables).

EmbdASIC

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Thank you braski and LvW.
Both your replies were of help towards my design.

@LvW