Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Beginner question regarding IC chips

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyqneuron

Newbie level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi guys, I'm a noob with electronics stuffs. I know the following may sound too ambitions for a beginner, but I'm very willing to learn whatever it takes. Here's my problem:

I am thinking of doing a wireless 6-axis motion tracker that connects to a USB port. I can find quite a lot of useful parts (the 6-axis motion tracker, MCU with builtin RF transceiver, independent RF transceiver, MCU with built-in USB controller and so on), but I'm an absolute noob with soldering/analog electronics and PCB stuffs. My question is:

1. How do amateur developers connect those tiny packages (say, 3x3 mm) with dozens of pins? I've got years of low-level programming experience so the protocols seem fine to me, but how do amateurs physically connect those pins? By soldering those tiny pins that can hardly be seen? Or by using Development Boards that are specific to each package and that connect those tiny pins to larger pins with greater space in between?

How do you guys connect those tiny packages?

Do you have an image or model number of the particular part? It might help in deciding the proper course of action

Hello hypneuron,

for connecting tiny packages (SMD) you need some special things:

1. Very good eyes and no shaking hands.
2. Eyeglasses with magnification or a magnifying glass. I use a watchmaker magnifying glass with 10 times magnification.
3. SMD glue to fix the device on board. **broken link removed**