Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basics tools for FPGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjeevan007

Full Member level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi

i am new to world FPGA

i want to start with FPGA

so tell me what are the software tools and hardware tools that are required to start

regards
jeevan

Well you will need an FPGA, probably on a dev board (there are many to chose from)
And the compiler for that brand of FPGA (Altera Quartus and Xilinx ISE are the main two).

What are you trying to do?

just some basic thing like implementing AND gate, OR gate and adders

which are start kit available

I suggest having a look at the websites of altera and xilinx.
Also consider the bemicro sdk **broken link removed**

i prefer to go for xilinx products, but in that also there so many things

which is best for starting......

A few answers to your questions
1) Starting point
a) Learn the architecture of FPGA - best source www.xilinx.com
b) In order to implement any circuit you need knowledge of a programming language to program the FPGA - Best language to learn is Verilog. (Cilletti book is good)
c) You need to convert this language (where you model your circuit) into a binary file which can be downloaded on the FPGA - Best tool for this is Xilinx Project Navigator - ISE
d) Best FPGA boards available at www.digilentinc.com. Cheap ones start from 5k INR (I presume you are from India)