Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

bandgap start up too slow

Status
Not open for further replies.

dawn goh

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
hi, can i ask a question here. i am new to bandgap design and have design a very simple brokaw cell without any opamp sensing circuit for feedback. i am facing a problem with a slow start up circuit, i am support to start up the circuit after 500ms but right now its 1s. The start up i use composes of a resistor and a few diode drops connected to the gate of a npn whose emiiter will drive the base of an npn. Anyone can give me some hints? Thank you very much.

I think the current through start-up circuits should be increased so the capacitor at base of a npn will be charged faster.

Added after 1 minutes:

Try to decrease resistor in a start-up.

hi... i tried increase/decrease current, change diode sizes, still no changes :cry:
can someone give me some ideas?? thanks in advance

The problem is that the capacitance at the output is charged too slowly, with other words the desired current is not present. If you burn lot of current, than they flow probably somewhere else.
A drawing of the circuit would be useful, for more help.

hi, here are 2 separate files attached
the first is the start up circuit, sorry, i drew it using word, could not print screen it at the moment sth wrong with my comp
the 2nd one is the ieee paper - a simple 3 terminal IC bandgap reference by brokaw. I am using fig 4. the emiiter of the nmos is connected to Q1 while Q10 and Q11 are implemented with cascode, vdd 4V