Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

AWR microwave office help

Status
Not open for further replies.

young.microwave.eng

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
150
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,310
hi every one
I'm going to design a LNA.I developed my imagination using microwave office.In microwave office
to simplify my designs,firstly I developed my design using TLIN,you know the TLIN parameters is impedance and center frequency and electrical length.using this element I could design some LNA that is match with my desired data.But when I'm going to implement this circuit using MLIN and MTRACE,the results is completely different.
my method to convert TLIN to MLIN or MTRACE is:In Txline calculator I entered the substrate parameters,then I entered electrical length and center frequency,from the right hand column I could find the width and length of desired MLIN or MTRACE,
do you have any suggestion or solution for my problem?
thanks in advance
 

tony_lth

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 28, 2010
Messages
2,022
Helped
376
Reputation
754
Reaction score
371
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Beijing
Activity points
12,008
You should use MLIN and MTRACE, and make a little tune of the length.
MLIN and MTRACE has end effect, or the bend effect.
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
Your procedure is correct.

Double check if you have a mistake in that conversion somewhere.
Do you have extreme step in line width?
Do you have open ended lines?
 

young.microwave.eng

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
150
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,310
thanks for you replies
Dear volker:
I've checked the widths many times.all conversions are correct.but I have open stubs.do you have any Idea about them?
you meant I should pay some considerations toward open stubs?
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
but I have open stubs. do you have any Idea about them?

An open stub in ideal lines is ideal open.
An open stub in microstrip has some extra capacitance.

For T-junction and cross, you will also see some difference between ideal (connected in one ideal point) and microstrip, because of the physical size of the connection.
 

young.microwave.eng

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
150
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,310
hi
thanks for you reply volker
Seems important practical consideration.I should check and reply again
 

eoncu

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,392
i am trying to desing a simple two-way wilkinson power divider by using AWR.I calculated the widths and lengths of the microstrip lines.And i draw them on the EM simulation layout.But i couldnt place the isolation resistor (2Zo) between two arms of the circuit.How can i describe resistance between two points on the design in EM Simulation layout in AWR.In CST user can specify RLC values between any points on the structure.But in AWR i couldnt find a way to describe.
 

V

volker_muehlhaus

Guest
How can i describe resistance between two points on the design in EM Simulation layout in AWR.

(1) Define a resistive metal and draw a resistor with that metal
OR
(2) Define two ports for the two terminals of the resistor, and then connect the resistor in the schematic simulator to these ports.
 

eoncu

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,392
Hi Volker,thank you for your response.I didnt use circuit schematic.I started from the EM layout.I drew the structur but couldnt place a resistance.At this point your first suggestion suits my case i think.How can i define a resistive metal?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top