Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio Signal to Control Electromagnet

Status
Not open for further replies.

jamd

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
I'm a total newbie, so I have a project where I want to manipulate some ferrofluid with an electromagnet using an audio input (from say an iPhone). My initial thoughts was to have say 3 band passes corresponding to 3 electromagnets so you can see the individual elements of the song (such as bass ext).

I was hoping you guys could point me in the right direction in what to read up on how I can get this project rolling.

Like I said total newbie, had some experience with circuits from A level physics but thats about it!!

Many Thanks!
James

I have never seen ferrofluid move. Maybe a DC electromagnet can lift some clumps of it then gravity can lower them. Since music is AC then you would need to rectify and filter it then drive a power stage that drives the electromagnet.
I do not think more than one group of frequencies will work.

Are speakers themselves not electromagnets?, would it not be possible to do a speaker cross over type circuit and feed each output to the corresponding electromagnet. I will need more power than what any output could supply so i would have to have "boost" the power with a main input somewhere in the circuit.

At present low frequency Audio vibrators are available. Do you wish to do similar things?

What is your idea about manipulation ferrofluid with magnetic field?

Ferrofluid is used in speakers to improve their efficiency.