Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Atmega8 Programming Configuration and security bits

Status
Not open for further replies.

tushki7

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,
I am new to avr's.. i want to program configuration and security bits for atmega8(external crystal 8 Mhz) and i want to reprogram its flash, so i don't want to lock it..
Here is image of settings which i used earlier to Program one of my atmega8, but now it is not working i cant read or write or even erase it : :cry:
atmega8.png

So please help me to set correct settings as i don't want to waste my other atmega8. I am using pony prog programmer.

Thank you in advance.

Check this thread
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/217227/

When you program the lock bits then you are not able to program or read the mcu until you erase it, this is intended to protect the content of the mcu, as soon ad you do a full erase you can rewrite the flash memory.

Your setting in the picture is for external RC and it is wrong for external crystal, you have to use an external RC to make it work again,
for external crystal you need to uncheck all cksel bits (which sets them to 1=unprogrammed).

Reactions: tushki7

tushki7

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Check this thread
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/217227/

Your setting in the picture is for external RC and it is wrong for external crystal, you have to use an external RC to make it work again,
for external crystal you need to uncheck all cksel bits (which sets them to 1=unprogrammed).

Thanks,